Youthful Hatters claim terrific Watford draw

Luton Town U18s v Leighton Buzzard U18s. Photos by Liam Smith wk 43.Luton Town U18s v Leighton Buzzard U18s. Photos by Liam Smith wk 43.
Luton Town U18s v Leighton Buzzard U18s. Photos by Liam Smith wk 43.
Youthful Luton Town U18s scored a terrific 2-2 draw against arch rivals Watford in the Puma Youth Alliance U18 South East Division at the UCL sports ground in St Albans today.

Town didn’t name a single second year scholar in their line-up as Watford took the lead inside two minutes.

Luton levelled on 25 minutes though when Daril Ngwala fired home from the edge of the box after good build-up play.

Hide Ad
Hide Ad

And the Hatters took the lead 10 minutes into the second half when the outstanding Osamu Allman cut inside from the left and fired home over the keeper.

However, Town couldn’t hold on as the Hornets equalised with 12 minutes to go when a player headed home a cross from close range.

Boss Paul Driver said: “There was no second year scholar playing. You can see from the line-up it was a very young, inexperienced side.

“It was excellent, exactly what we needed. Craig King the regular keeper was not playing either.

Hide Ad
Hide Ad

“When you come and play against a strong set-up like here at Watford it’s an excellent result and excellent performance.

“We are showing some good quality going forward as well as the defensive side being good which is important as they are so young.

“I’m really pleased with them as a group and as individuals and it’s something to build on next season already.”

Due to the recent bad weather, it was the first time Town’s youngsters had been in action since they beat MK Dons 2-1 on December 17.

Hide Ad
Hide Ad

Driver added: “The big hitters are missing because they are involved against Leighton Town tonight.

“We know we have some good first years that can step in. There will be a lot of players whose confidence will grow because of that.

“Everyone deserves a pat on the back for how well they played.”

Hatters (4-4-2): Adam Whybrow, Benji Crilley, Lucas Perry, Harry Tamplin (C), Lee Hawkes, Daril Ngwala, Gabriel Oakley, Luke Trotman, Osamu Allman (Geo Craig), Sean McMonagle (Kane Smith), Tuki Tayali (Ekene Amadi). Substitutes not used: James Justin.

Related topics: