Town trio earn England C call

A TRIO of Hatters have been named in the England C squad for their clash in Gibraltar on Tuesday, November 15, writes Mike Simmonds.

Robbie Willmott, Adam Watkins, pictured right, and Amari Morgan-Smith were selected by manager Paul Fairclough in his 18-man travelling party for the match at the Victora Stadium.

The game will be used as a warm-up for the 2012 International Challenge Trophy campaign which will take place in February, a competition England were runners-up in last season.

England C have been drawn against Belgium, Italy and competition newcomers Russia in the ICT group stage and Fairclough sees the Gibraltar encounter as a good tune up for his side as he said: “It is down to the players to be consistent at club level and competition for places is fierce.

“We met Gibraltar in the Four Nations Tournament a few years ago and they were very determined.

“We managed to beat them but not without a few scares.

“We have had enough time to recover from the defeat against Portugal in the final last season and this is a fresh start with new challenges and great opportunities.”

England C: Preston Edwards (Ebbsfleet), Jonathan Hedge (Tamworth), Shane Killock (AFC Telford United), Adam Boyes (Barrow), Kenny Davis, Jai Reason (Braintree Town), Rory McAuley (Cambridge United), Shaun Beeley, Junior Brown (Fleetwood Town), Jamie Turley (Forest Green Rovers), Scott Spender (Hyde), Amari Morgan-Smith, Robbie Willmott, Adam Watkins (Luton), Lindon Meikle (Mansfield), Danny Rose (Newport County), Connor Jennings (Stalybridge Celtic), Ashley Chambers (York City).

Related topics: