Vipers strike to take title in Touch League finals

The Championship final was won by the Open University
The Championship final was won by the Open University

The Bedford Blues Touch League finals took place on Wednesday night and produced an exciting end to the 10-week season.

A total of 12 teams took part in this year’s league; they were split into the Premiership Division and Championship Division, with the top two teams playing each other to decide the overall winners.

In the Premiership final, undefeated Team Vipers – led by Ampthill’s Ben Gulliver – faced Vets and Jets led by Kevin Breeze. The previous league meeting between these two sides had ended in a draw.

The first half of the final ended up even at three all. However, in the second half Vipers dominated play and ran out 6-4 winners, with Elliott Clement Hill named MVP for the game.

The Championship final was between Ampthill Extras, playing in the league for the first time, and the Open University – a team who boasted plenty of touch experience.

Going on form, Ampthill started out as favourites and looked to have taken a commanding 5-3 lead during the second half, but Open University dug in and managed to level the scores at five all and put the game into extra-time.

After a tense five minutes of added time, Open University triumphed 8- 7 to become the Championship winners – James Barnett of OU was named MVP.

The cups and medals were presented by Dean Adamson and Michael Le Bourgeois of the Bedford Blues.