Blues ring the changes for Titans clash

editorial image

Bedford Blues have started 2015 in fine form but they know that they will have to be at their best if they are to take anything from Rotherham Titans on Saturday afternoon.

Trips to Clifton Lane haven’t been too fruitful of late and you have to go back to March 2012 for the Blues last win there when tries from Ollie Dodge, Don Barrell, Josh Bassett and Darryl Veenendaal helped Bedford to a 32-19 triumph in the play-offs.

Bedford have enjoyed two wins out of two this year when they overcame Moseley a fortnight ago before turning over Doncaster Knights with a final minute try at Goldington Road last weekend.

Looking ahead to the game, Blues Forwards Coach Martin Hynes said: “Things have started coming together over recent weeks and aspects of our performances have been very pleasing. There is still plenty of work to do but the lads are really applying themselves well in training and we are starting to see the results out on the field.

“Rotherham have tasted defeat twice in a row now and we know that they will want to bounce back with a big performance in front of their home fans. There is nothing as dangerous as a wounded animal so we will have to be at the top of our game to come away with a result.”

Billy Moss continues his recuperation form injury by helping out near neighbours Ampthill while Jim Wigglesworth has moved to Cambridge on loan to gain some valuable game time.

Director of Rugby Mike Rayer takes the opportunity to rotate things a little in his squad this week with Henry Staff, Viliami Hakalo, Steffan Jones and Pete White taking their place in the backs while TJ Harris, Phil Boulton, Harry Wells and Joe Vandermolen all start up front.

Blues: 15. James Pritchard (c); 14. Pat Tapley; 13. Henry Staff; 12. Viliami Hakalo; 11. Dean Adamson; 10. Steffan Jones; 9. Pete White; 1.Johnny Harris; 2. TJ Harris; 3. Phil Boulton; 4. Mike Howard; 5. Harry Wells; 6. Paul Tupai; 7. Justin Blanchet; 8. Joe Vandermolen.

Replacements: 16. Charlie Clare; 17. Tom Williams; 18. James Currie; 19. Ben Gulliver; 20. Josh Buggea; 21. Darryl Veenendaal; 22. Michael Le Bourgeois.