Blues looking to return with a bang against high-flying Yorkshire Carnegie

Blues in action earlier this season
Blues in action earlier this season

Less than 24 hours after their annual fireworks extravaganza, Bedford Blues will be hoping for an even bigger display on the pitch when they welcome second placed Yorkshire Carnegie to Goldington Road tomorrow afternoon.

Games against Carnegie are always tough as shown last season when just five points separated the two teams as Bedford picked up a 15-10 victory at home. The corresponding fixture at Headingley also went the way of the home team, with Carnegie taking the spoils 15-8.

Looking ahead to the game, Blues team manager Rob Crowle said: “Having last weekend off has allowed some extra recuperation time within the squad and we are delighted to be welcoming back a host of players who were suffering knocks beforehand.

“Our last game against Ealing certainly wasn’t our prettiest performance and the lads know that we expect a lot more from them. That said, we played right up until the final whistle and showed great composure to force the penalty which was superbly struck to seal the win.

“We have a huge task ahead of us this Saturday against a team tipped for the play-offs but the squad have trained hard this week and are all looking forward to getting straight back into action.”

Bedford make seven changes from the team which overcame Ealing Trailfinders with Steffan Jones, Michael Le Bourgeois, Myles Dorrian and Peter White all starting in the backs while Biyi Alo, Harry Wells and Paul Tupai come into the pack. There is a welcome place on the bench for hooker Sam James and back rower Joel Conlon who have both recovered from a pre-season injuries and could be in line for their Blues debut while James Pritchard is also named following his World Cup exploits with Canada.

Starting line-up:

15. Steffan Jones

14. George Perkins

13. Michael Le Bourgeois

12. Tom Griffiths

11. Dean Adamson

10. Myles Dorrian

9. Peter White

1. Alex Lundberg

2. Charlie Clare

3. Biyi Alo

4. Harry Wells

5. Mark Flanagan

6. Nick Fenton-Wells (c)

7. Josh Buggea

8. Paul Tupai


16. Sam James

17. Camilo Parilli-Ocampo

18. Mike Howard

19. Joel Conlon

20. Jordan Burns

21. Jake Sharp

22. James Pritchard