Dragons firing on Bedford & District Netball League finals evening

Cup winners: Dunstable Dragons
Cup winners: Dunstable Dragons

Dunstable Dragons were crowned Bedford & District Netball League Division Four cup final champions after beating Spirit last week.

A nervy start by the league runners-up, saw Spirit move 3-0 ahead, as it took Dragons over three minutes to score their first points.

Ampthill Amazons

Ampthill Amazons

They continued to make a few unforced errors, to trail 4-2, but some excellent play by Katy Mullin at goal defence and goal attack Gi Kwan-Kwok, saw Dunstable level at 4-4.

In the second quarter, Spirit again upped their tempo, winning 5-2 to move back in front, leading 9-6.

However, Dragons quickly levelled the scores and completely dominated the third quarter.

That saw the scores level in the final quarter with Spirit leading 6-4, only for Dunstable to level and make it 7-7 at the final whistle.

The result had to be decided on goal difference and Dragons took the trophy by virtue of scoring 21 goals to Spirit’s 16, with player of the match going to Kwan-Kwok.

Next up was the Division Two final between league champions Chiltern Vipers and third placed Cranfield Wolves.

Lucy Turner kept Chiltern Vipers on even terms for the first eight minutes, but Maria Riley from Cranfield made the all important interception as Cranfield ran out 9-4 winners in the first quarter.

Cranfield began to forge ahead after the interval as they came off at half time with an excellent 12 goals to 1 score.

And more of the same followed as Cranfield won 8-3 in the third quarter to win the trophy. Player of the match went to Sophie Iddeson from Chiltern Vipers.

The final match of the evening would be a repeat of last year, with Premier Division runners-up Ampthill Amazons taking on fifth-placed Grangers Blaze.

Ampthill finished the first quarter as winners by 6 goals to 2, before an incredibly tight second quarter finished with Ampthill edging it 3-2.

Amazons then took the third quarter by 5 goals to 3 and to won the cup for the third year in succession.

Player of the match went to Ellie Rattu from Grangers Blaze.

The plate winners for Division Four were UHY Hacker Young, for Division Two Bedford Knights and for the Premier Division, Hawks.