Hot-shot Hoggett bags a hat-trick at awards night bash

Men's first team forward Lee Hoggett picked up a trio of awards on Saturday evening at the Berkhamsted Hockey Club annual awards dinner, hosted at the Swan Hotel.

Wednesday, 13th April 2016, 2:41 pm
Updated Wednesday, 13th April 2016, 2:42 pm
The Bedford Hockey Club ladies' first team

It was a prolific season in front of goal for Hoggett as he led the mens scoring charts with 21 goals, whilse also bagging the Players’ Player vote and Mixed Player of the Year too.

Meanwhile, Emma Pinny won the Durham award for the overall Ladies’ Player of the Season for the second time, and Alex Drummond scooped the equivalent award for the men.

It was a terrific evening, with the men’s 5s celebrating winning East Div 9SW in their first season - with president and team captain Rob Oakley tipping many of the youngsters for National League honours in the coming years.

The Bedford Hockey Club men's' first team

Tom Stewart and Martha Haslam were awarded Young Players of the Year, while Taylor Bland and Abigail Norris were rewarded for huge developments in their games this season with the Most Improved awards.

Abi had not played hockey before she joined BHC and was one of a number of new players on the ladies’ side of the club which will allow a sixth team to play competitive league hockey next season.

Off the pitch, the annual awards also provide the opportunity to say thank-you to a number of volunteers. Tracy Lawrence was recognised with the Deb Weiland trophy for five years as team captain, while Tarsem Chagger received the BHC tankard for services to the club for 36 years of service as a BHC pool umpire.

Players Player awards : Ladies 1s - Beth Noble; Mens 1s - Lee Hoggett; Ladies 2s - Lucy Sellers; Mens 2s - Adam Seward; Ladies 3s - Liv Whinton; Mens 3s - Jack Madden; Ladies 4s - Sam Loxley; Mens 4s - Greg Shirley; Ladies 5s - Jasmine Green; Mens 5s - David Townson; Ladies 6s - Beth Healey; Ladies Masters - Sue Phillips; Mens Vets - Bob Hughes; Academy - Chloe Pigram.

The Bedford Hockey Club men's' first team

Club Awards: Darrah Shield: Ladies Top Goalscorer - Alice Brady-White and Andrea Mason (12); Alan Rushden Trophy: Mens Top Goalscorer - Lee Hoggett; Elaine Harvey Trophy: Ladies Most Improved - Abigail Norris; Pierre Weston Award: Mens Most Improved - Taylor Bland; Cod Cup: Young Player (Ladies) - Martha Haslam; Woodrow Trophy: Young Player (Mens) - Tom Stewart; Durham Ladies Player of the Season - Emma Pinny; Mens Player of the Season - Alex Drummond; Ladies Team Award - Ladies 5s; Narwi Lotay Award: Mens Team Award - Mens 5s; Mixed Player of the Year - Lee Hoggett; Non Descripts Umpiring Services - Cheryll Wilson; Deb Weiland Trophy for Services to the Ladies Section - Tracy Lawrence; BHC Tankard for Services to the Club - Tarsem Chagger.

Meanwhile the Men’s 2s have a national title within their reach. They won their cup semi-final, beating City of York 2s 3-1 (goals from Steve Adams, Matt Wilson and Adam Seward) and will now be playing Banbury 2s in the second team plate final at Lee Valley Hockey Centre on Monday, May 2. All support welcome.