Bedford & County Golf Club welcome 92 ladies for Summer Open

Round-up by Heather Nolan

Friday, 18th June 2021, 3:37 pm
Updated Friday, 18th June 2021, 3:38 pm
The ladies' Open Day cabin

After having to cancel both their open days last year Bedford & County were delighted to welcome 92 ladies to their 2021 Summer Open on June 3, writes Heather Nolan.

A lot of the teams were fairly local but players came over from Cambridgeshire, Hertfordshire and Norfolk to enjoy a lovely sunny day, cold drinks and cakes at the halfway house and a meal afterwards.

The format was an am/am with three holes where all four scores counted and with the course playing really well there were some excellent scores.

Mark Lawler won his first monthly medal with an impressive net 63

The winners all came from Cainhoe Wood Golf club – Lucy Robinson, Nicki Croft, Jas Butter and Lesley Harris – with 89 points just beating their nearest rivals on countback – Nicky Reynolds from Bedfordshire Golf club, Victoria Schaverlen amd Belen Gonzalez Terol from Hartsbourne and Gill Brame from Letchworth also on 89 points.

The monthly medal on June 6 saw two competitions taking place – The Chadwick Trophy and the Gibson Challenge Cup (medals final).

Mark Lawler won his first monthly medal with an impressive net 63 to take home the trophy with Men’s Captain Leo Conroy in overall second place with a net 65.

The Gibson Challenge Cup went to Ashley Schurch with net 65 beating Luigi Rocco on countback.

Results: Men’s midweek stableford: Division One winner David Morrish 38 pts, runner-up Andy Bennett 37 pts; Division Two winner James King 37 pts, runner-up James Stewart 36 pts, Division Three winner Darren Noble 36 pts, runner-up Robert Henman 35 pts.

Coronation Foursomes: Winners Lucinda Holden & Jenny Prior 34 pts, runners-up Louise Simons and Brenda Gibbons 33 pts,

Men’s midweek medal: Division One winner Russell Thornton net 67, runner-up Dan Arden 68; Division Two winner Ron Etheridge 69, runner-up Andy Corke 70; Division Three winner Harvey Price 70, runner-up Nigel Wilie 71.