Trophy dreams end for Eagles at the hands of Weymouth

Daril Ngwala presses on for Bedford. Picture (c) June Essex
Daril Ngwala presses on for Bedford. Picture (c) June Essex

The Eagles’ FA Trophy campaign ended at the Eyrie on Saturday afternoon against Southern Premier Division side Weymouth.

The visitors took the game to Bedford early on; Dean Evans went close with a powerful header from a corner, but the Eagles defence cleared up.

The reprieve didn’t last long, however, as Bedford found themselves a goal behind on 16 minutes when Adam Kelly lobbed the ball over the outstretched hands of Bedford keeper Tyler Reading.

Midway through the half, Kelly curled the ball past Reading, but the foot of the post came to the rescue, and the ball was cleared.

It was Bedford who struck next as they equalised on 25 minutes when Solomon Sambou spotted Terras keeper Jason Matthews off his line and took advantage with a vicious 22-yard shot that had goal written on it as soon as the ball left his boot.

However, Weymouth regained the lead on 38 minutes, with a bit of fortune at the end of some sustained pressure. Stuart Yetton received the ball and his scuffed shot was enough to wrong-foot Reading to end up in the back of the net.

Bedford looked for an equaliser towards the end of the half, but two minutes into stoppage time, the defence allowed a poor ball to reach Chris Shephard and the winger took full advantage to slot the ball past Reading for a 3-1 lead at the interval.

The second period was cagier to start with, but the game was effectively ended just 10 minutes into the half when Weymouth added a fourth. Shephard’s shot was saved by Reading, but Yetton raced onto the loose ball to slam it home.

The game ended on a sour note for Bedford when Bilal Yafai was given a red card a minute into stoppage time after he tussled with a Weymouth player and retaliated to a strong tackle.

Bedford: Tyler Reading, Kyal McNulty, Kyle Lincoln, Tommy Hull (c), James Peters, Solomon Sambou, Javia Roberts, Bilal Yafai, Serigne Mor Diop (Christian Lester 71), Dave Moli (Josh Bamford 71), Daril Ngwala.

Subs not used: Matt Clifford, Stefan Powell, Maxime Fondop Siwe.

Terras: Jason Matthews (Steve Boore 54), Ashley Wells, Mark Cooper, Dean Evans, Pat Baldwin, Calvin Brooks, Adam Kelly, Chris McPhee, Stuart Yetton (c), Ben Thomson (Mark Molesley 68), Chris Shephard (Jordan Copp 78).

Subs not used: Billy Lowes, George Rigg.

Referee: Mr A Waters.

Assistants: Mr O Roguez & Mr R Claussen.

Attendance: 229.