New opponents for local teams as FA announce non-league pyramid restructure

Several different clubs join fixture lists for 2021-22 season

Thursday, 20th May 2021, 8:53 pm
Updated Thursday, 20th May 2021, 8:56 pm

The FA’s National League System restructure was announced earlier this week, with local teams appearing to avoid any major upheavals.

Bedford Town Bedford FC and Ampthill Town are remaining in their current divisions, but supporters will see a host of changes and new clubs joining their 2021-22 season’s fixture lists.

Subject to FA Council ratification, the allocations will see 107 clubs in total upwardly moved within the pyramid at Steps 4-6 in order to facilitate the new divisions, with a new additional division at Step 4 and two additional new divisions at Step 5 and a reduction of divisions, from 20 to 17, at Step 6.

The restructure is meant to have a positive impact on a significant number of clubs, supporting them with reduced travel and costs and providing greater opportunities for generating income via localised fixtures.

At Step 4, Bedford Town remain in the Southern League Central division, and will be joined by Colney Heath who have been promoted from Spartan South Midlands League premier division,

Also swapping divisions in sideways moves to be the Eagles’ opponents next season are FC Romania, Harlow Town, Hertford Town, Waltham Abbey and Ware.

They will line up alongside current opponents AFC Dunstable, Aylesbury United, Barton Rovers, Berkhamsted, Biggleswade, Didcot Town, Kempston Rovers, Kidlington, North Leigh, St Neots Town, Thame United, Wantage Town and Welwyn Garden City.

At Step 6, Bedford FC and Ampthill Town in Spartan South Midlands Football League Division One, also have just one team promoted into their ranks.

Letchworth GC Eagles join from the Herts Senior County League.

Other teams new to the division, thanks to the changes in allocations will be Burton Park Wanderers, Irchester United, Kidlington Reserves, Long Crendon, Northampton Sileby Rangers, Penn & Tylers Green, Raunds Town, Rushden & Higham United, Thame Rangers andWellingborough Whitworth.

Those teams have switched from the United Counties and Hellenic Leagues.

Familiar opposition who will be remaining in the division along with Bedford FC and Ampthill Town are Amersham Town, Buckingham Athletic, Langford, London Tigers, Shefford Town & Campton, Stotfold and Winslow United.