Kissock downs Southend as Henry makes return

A GOAL for John Paul Kissock gave Luton Town’s reserves a 1-0 victory at Southend United in the Combination League yesterday afternoon.

Hatters picked a strong side, including Ed Asafu-Adjaye, Dean Beckwith and Aaron O’Connor while winger Charlie Henry made his first appearance since signing last year, as he played the final 25 minutes at Roots Hall.

Former West Ham youngster Zak Stephens started in defence, but Jemal Johnson went close for the hosts early on as his long-ranger was held by Lewis Kidd, before Kissock’s stinging shot was turned round the post by keeper Daniel Bentley.

Peter Gilbert made an important intervention to stop Kissock from converting Colby McAdams’ centre, while the only goal of the game came when Kissock’s free kick was deflected into the bottom corner on 17 minutes.

Michael Timlin volleyed over the bar midway through the half, before Aaron O’Connor almost made it 2-0 only for Gilbert’s intervention.

The Shrimpers ended the half strongly as Kyle Asante nodded wide and Kidd showed good hands to claim Johnson’ skidding 30-yarder.

Southend thought they had levelled after the break but Asante’s goal was chalked off for offside.

Just before the hour mark, home forward Harry Crawford fired over before crossing for substitute Seedy Njie to head off target.

Henry finally had his first taste of competitive action for the club after signing from Newport County last season, replacing O’Connor after 66 minutes as Luton held on for victory.

Luton Town res: Lewis Kidd, Ed Asafu-Adjaye, Jerome Jibodu, Christian Tavernier, Dean Beckwith (Newman Carney 66), Zak Stephens, John Paul Kissock, Paul Carden, Collin Samuel (Alasan Ann 84), Aaron O’Connor (Charlie Henry 66), Colby McAdams.

Substitutes not used: Ryan Da Silva, Jerry Nash, Ash Deeney.

Southend United res: Daniel Bentley, George Artemi, Teddy Nesbitt, James Stevens (Jack Paxman 75), Graham Coughlan, Peter Gilbert, Kyle Asante (Marlon Agyakwa 66), Michael Timlin, Blair Sturrock (Seedy Njie 66), Harry Crawford, Jemal Johnson.

Substitutes not used: Luke Chambers, Ryan Auger.

Related topics: