Champions do the double at Bedford tournament

The annual Bedford Table Tennis League tournament took place at Lincroft School this week and saw a record turnout of 55 players.

By The Newsroom
Tuesday, 23rd February 2016, 12:57 pm
Updated Tuesday, 23rd February 2016, 1:00 pm
Bedford Table Tennis League chairman Dave Beddall with men's singles winner Kuanyshev Chingis
Bedford Table Tennis League chairman Dave Beddall with men's singles winner Kuanyshev Chingis

The men’s singles was won by Kuanyshev Chingis, who plays for St Neots. He defeated club-mate and previous winner Daniel Fielding in the final.

The ladies’ singles title was a contest between Marston’s Sarah Hudson and St Neot’s Di Gutteridge, who surprised the Bedfordshire No 2 lady as she took the first set 12-10.

However, Hudson composed herself and won the next three legs 10, 7, 8 to add her name to the trophy again.

The hotly-contested mixed doubles title, involving six pairs, was won by Gutteridge and Shaun Murray who defeated Hudson and Dave Wackrill 3-0 in the final.

The ladies’ doubles winners were never in any doubt as the singles finalists joined forces to defeat second-placed duo Linda Murfitt and Kay Thompson from Elstow, and third placed Ruth Hart and Barbara Wright.

The men’s doubles title was a hard fought 11, 9, -7, -2 , 6 win for Fielding and Murray over Pyle and Chingis.

Veteran No 1 seed Roger Pyle (Revolution) was unexpectedly beaten -12, 3, 11, -7, 9 in the final by in-form club-mate Dave Beddall, who took the trophy for his second time.

Pyle and Beddall then combined in the veteran doubles to defeat Marston’s Wackrill and Gerald Ridgeway 9, -6, 7, -8, 6 in the final.

A total of 13 players contested the Division Five title, which was eventually taken by Southill’s Ian Drakes who defeated Revolution’s Chris Nicol in the final.

The Division Four title was won by Southill’s Philip Smith, defeating Chris Smith 10, -8, 6, 3. Division Two and Three saw the same pair compete for these two titles and it was Revolution’s Division Three player Martin Walters who defeated Southill’s Dante Lacorte to win two trophies in his first season in the league.

Smith Cup quarter-finals: Revolution C (204) Beat Biggleswade (0); Phoenix C (216) Beat Revolution A (0); Elstow C (0) Beat Elstow D (57); Stevington B (69) Beat Stevington A (0).

The Plate quarter-finals: Bedford CTTC C (0) Beat Revolution F (126); Southill D (0) Beat Bedford CTTC A (21); Revolution E (204) Beat Southill A (0); Elstow E (129) Beat St Neots D (0).