‘We are loonies, we are not nutters’ says former Flitwick mayor in Mid Beds race for MP seat

Ann Kelly -Mid Beds prospective parliamentary candidate for the Official Monster Raving Looney Party.
Ann Kelly -Mid Beds prospective parliamentary candidate for the Official Monster Raving Looney Party.
Share this article

A two-time town mayor and experienced independent councillor has joined the Official Monster Raving Looney Party in the MP race for Mid Beds.

Freelance historian Ann Kelly, of Flitwick, has given herself the ‘Looney’ name of The Mid Beds Minx for her election campaign.

She said: “I have friends who are in the party and I have been to various events and they asked me if I wanted to stand in Mid Beds - basically it’s as simple as that.”

The 57 year old, who enjoys knitting and sewing, was Flitwick’s mayor for two terms from 2010 to 2012 and served on the town council from 2005 to 2013.

Although the Monster Raving Looney Party is a satirical party that pokes fun at politics, Ann said: “Each individual candidate does have a serious side.

“Just because I’m standing for the looney party doesn’t mean I’m going to be mucking around.

“We are loonies, we are not nutters.”

She said if successful in her bid for MP, the party will give her free rein to serve her constituents.

“As long as I don’t bring the party into disrepute, I would be free to do what I want and represent my constituents,” she said.

“I would be quite free. I would be an MP for the local constituents.”

A mother of one grown up son, Ann said her priorities are securing housing for first time buyers and young families and helping young people through more ‘old fashioned’ apprenticeships and the scrapping of zero hour contracts.

She said: “There is a lot of voter apathy at the moment, with people thinking that as all the main parties seem to be the sam why bother to vote? Anyone who feels that was can vote for me.”

In the contest for Mid Beds, Ann will face Tory Nadine Dorries, Labour’s Charlynne Pullen, Lib Dem Linda Jack, Gareth Ellis for the Green Party, UKIP’s Nigel Wickens and John Guinn from the Whig Party.