The beautiful Turvey House and grounds will be opening to the public to support the British Red Cross.
There will be guided tours of the house during the open day on Sunday, June 26, from 1pm until 5pm, but these must be booked in advance.
Turvey House was built in the 1790’s by John Higgins of Western Underwood and re-modelled in 1830’s in the Italian Neo-classical style. The house contains fine collections of 18th century and 19th century English and continental furniture, pictures, porcelain, objects d’art and books.
The walled gardens have both flower and vegetable planting and boast an ancient mulberry tree. There is a ha-ha around the front of the house and sweeping lawns with splendid views of the River Great Ouse.
To enable groups of 20 people at a time to be guided around the house, the charity asks people to book by June 12. Telephone Natasha on 07753 853214 or email email@example.com for a booking form. There will be no other entrance to the house on the day other than prior booking.
Once visitors have completed their tour they can relax with a selection of homemade cakes, teas and explore the garden.
Tickets for the house tour are £6, or £4 for the garden only.
Children under 12 admitted free and must be accompanied by an adult. Free car parking in the grounds.