East West Rail’s virtual consultation for Bedford residents delayed due to Prince Philip's funeral

It's been put back a week

Tuesday, 13th April 2021, 4:48 pm

East West Railway Company (EWR Co) has been forced to reschedule a public live chat event due to the period of national mourning following the Duke of Edinburgh's death.

Originally due to take place this Saturday (April 17) - the date of the funeral - it has now been put back a week, to Saturday, April 24.

Following feedback from the public, a change has also been made to an event planned for May 12 for people with an interest in the Bedford consultation proposals, with the time moving from 11am to an evening session between 7pm and 8pm.

This map was part of a letter sent to some houses marked for possible compulsory purchase/demolition
This map was part of a letter sent to some houses marked for possible compulsory purchase/demolition

All other public online live chats and webinars will go ahead as planned.

The virtual consultation rooms, which can be accessed from a computer, tablet or mobile phone, cover the seven key areas of the East West Rail public consultation, launched last month, and running until June 9, including Bedford.

They contain personalised banners and fact sheets and maps. They also include an online feedback form – to allow people to provide EWR Co with instant feedback which will be captured and saved for analysis as part of the consultation.

The preferred route of the East West Rail

Weekly two-hour live chat events will be held throughout the consultation, with experts on-hand who will remotely answer questions as visitors look around the materials, emulating traditional face-to-face events.

EWR Co is also hosting a series of public webinars for people who have an interest in proposals for specific locations along the East West Rail route. However, if you don't have internet access, you can call 0330 1340067.

The live chats schedule is as follows: Wednesday, April 21 from 10am to noon; Saturday, April 24 from 2pm to 4pm; Monday, April 26 from 10am to noon; Tuesday, May 4, from 6pm to 8pm; Thursday, May 13, from 10am to noon; Saturday, May 22, from 10am to noon; Monday, May 24, from 2pm to 4pm; Saturday, May 29, from 2pm to 4pm and Tuesday, June 1, from 6pm to 8pm.

The Bedford webinars will take place tomorrow (Wednesday, April 14) from 2pm to 3pm and Wednesday, May 12 from 7pm to 8pm.