Outstanding Recognition Awards for Bedfordshire, Cambridgeshire and Hertfordshire Joint Protective Services

Officers and staff from Bedfordshire, Cambridgeshire and Hertfordshire Joint Protection Services have been recognised for their work at an awards ceremony

Thursday, 6th February 2020, 4:46 pm
Updated Thursday, 6th February 2020, 4:46 pm

ACC Paul Fullwood hosted the event at Sharnbrook Hotel on Thursday, January 30.

He said: “Every day our exceptional people go above and beyond and it is right we celebrate and honour their achievements.

“The Bedfordshire, Cambridgeshire and Hertfordshire Joint Protective Services is recognised as one of the most successful collaborations of protective services across UK policing and all of our staff play a critical role in supporting local policing and keeping our communities safe.

L to R: Chief Constable for Hertfordshire Charlie Hall, PC Jim Hoare and ACC Paul Fullwood

"We had some truly impressive nominations and it was very hard to decide who the winner should be in each category.

"Congratulations to all our worthy winners and all those shortlisted.”

Thanks go to The Garden Productions, the three police federations and Kier Group for their sponsorship of the event.

There were ten categories of awards:

L to R: Sgt James Thorne and ACC Paul Fullwood

> Making a difference

Winner - DC Lisa Winterburn was nominated for being proactive in thinking of ways to help her colleagues. Her experience as a former Child Protection Investigator has been invaluable to the Major Crime Unit.

> Innovator of the year

Winner - PC Jim Hoare of the dog unit has brought in three specialist pieces of equipment to support the training of the dogs in the best possible and most advanced way.

Lisa Winterburn and ACC Paul Fullwood

Runner up – Assistant Investigator Natalie Shirran of the Major Crime Unit.

> Going the extra mile

Winner - PA Tracey Henderson, she has been described as being the very backbone and heart of JPS. An unsung heroine who goes the extra mile daily for anyone that needs her to.

Runner up - DC Julia Searle of the Major Crime Unit.

> Outstanding leadership

Winner - DS Jo Goodson of the Major Crime Unit, she is described as a naturally happy person who leads her team with a smile and motivates them. The way she conducts herself and leads her team is a credit to the Major Crime Unit.

Runners up – Principle SOCO Stuart York and SOCO Alex Reddish from the Scientific Services Unit

> Behind the scenes wonder

Winner –Sergeant Iain Carter of the Operational Support Unit has been described an inspiration to all. He leads by example and is out there with the team to support them, his BCH colleagues and of course to protect the public.

Runner up –PC Paul Huggett of the Dog Unit.

> Most supportive colleague

Runner up – Business Support Assistant Sam Hicks from Camera, Tickets and Collisions.

> Unsung hero

Runner up –Intelligence Analyst Dave Stacey of the MCU.

> Health and wellbeing

Runner up - Forensic Imaging Manager Jess Carey of the SSU

> Team of the year

Winners – The armed policing unit Team A South, they have been described as a close knit team who support each other through friendship, understanding and honest feedback.

Runners up – Civil Contingencies Unit, Assistant Investigators Rebecca Wheeler and Alina Jablonske and colleague from their Major Crime Unit team.

> ACC employee of the year

Winner - Sgt James Thorne of the Serious Collision Investigation Unit, he was described as a role model to his colleagues who see him as delivering the gold standard as a Lead Investigating Officer. His outstanding contribution to the investigation of fatal road collisions is worthy of recognition and acclaim.