Budding reporters win prizes for Recording Bedfordians

Recording Bedfordians competition winners
Recording Bedfordians competition winners

Creative students have been presented with prizes for their writing talents in a competition organised by the John Bunyan Museum in Bedford and The Harpur Trust.

The prizes were presented by local journalists at a ceremony held on Tuesday, July 5, who had judged the entries for the competition, ‘Recording Bedfordians’. Entrants were asked to write a 500-word newspaper report about a well-known Bedford character from past or present.

Recording Bedfordians prizegiving

Recording Bedfordians prizegiving

Across the four age groups there were entries from 140 children from 15 different schools.

The competition was part of the Harpur Trust’s 450th anniversary celebrations and

Waterstones, Bedford, supported the competition and donated some of the prizes, Rogan Books, Castle Road, also supported the competition.

Among the group of judges was Suzanne Dilley from the Times and Citizen, who said: “The standard of writing was excellent and judging winners from the entries was quite a challenge. The top stories were just a delight to read and I hope the competition has inspired all the entrants to carry on with their creative writing.”

Recording Bedfordians prizegiving

Recording Bedfordians prizegiving

David Russell, chief executive of The Harpur Trust said: “The writing competition is one of a number of events which we have put on for the town during this, our 450th year as a charity for Bedford. Our hope with this particular project was that it would inspire young writers to research and discover their town’s rich history, and seeing the variety of stories that have come in, it is clear that it has done just that. Congratulations to all the winners who took part.”

The winners are:

5-8 years

1st Prize: Princess Kissindja – Putnoe Primary School

2nd Prize: Hanna Wegner – Putnoe Primary School,

3rd Prize: Semilore Apesin – Cauldwell School

8-11 years

1st Prize: Amie Currie – Putnoe Primary School

2nd Prize: Zahra Muraj– Putnoe Primary School

3rd Prize: Rohit Memhi – Putnoe Primary School

Highly Commended: Aishamarie Jallow – Springfield Lower School

11-14 years

1st Prize: Jess Brooks – Margaret Beaufort Middle School

2nd Prize: Jamie Williams – Bedford School

3rd Prize: David Adeyemi – Bedford School

Highly Commended: Emily Jane Palmer – Castle Newnham School

14-18 years

1st Prize: Eddie Tian – Bedford School

2nd Prize: John Hopcroft – Bedford School

3rd Prize: Edwin Chan – Bedford School

There were special commendation prizes for the most imaginative reports which featured John Bunyan or Sir William Harpur.

The Harpur Prize, presented by David Russell, chief executive of The Harpur Trust: Tobiloba Apesin – Cauldwell School

The Bunyan Prize, presented by Nicola Sherhod, curator of John Bunyan Museum:

Zahra Muraj – Putnoe Primary School

All prize winners will get to see their work in print, as well as featuring in a special celebration evening at the Quarry Theatre, St Luke’s, during the autumn.

Cherry Protheroe, trustee of Bunyan Meeting, and chair of the John Bunyan Museum Committee, said: “This has been another hugely successful competition for the John Bunyan Museum. We were delighted to be asked to join with the Harpur Trust this year and make the competition part of their 450th anniversary celebrations. Our thanks go to them for providing most of the very generous prizes as well as Waterstones Bedford, for donating two of the prizes.”

The John Bunyan Museum is open Tuesday to Saturday 11am until 4pm and admission is free.

For more details contact the curator Nicola Sherhod on 01234 270303 or email curator@bunyanmeeting.co.uk

Visit www.bunyanmeeting.co.uk/museum