Bedford Borough Council election preview special: De Parys

A key territory for the Lib Dems to retain.
Cllr Henry VannCllr Henry Vann
Cllr Henry Vann

Although Cllrs Henry Van and David Sawyer won the two seats in the 2015 election, the Conservative candidates came a close third and fourth.

Both Lib Dems are highly-regarded by Mayor Dave Hodgson, with Cllr Vann a member of his current cabinet.

Meanwhile the Conservatives last won a seat in De Parys in 2004.

Cllrs Vann and Sawyer maintaining those tight majorities could be crucial to the Lib Dems’ hopes of keeping a strong presence at Borough Hall.

The full list of candidates standing in De Parys:

Robin Illingworth (Conservative)

David Alexander Sawyer (Liberal Democrat)

Conny Smith (Labour)

Andrea Spice (Conservative)

Laurence David Russell Turner (Labour)

Henry Paul Vann (Liberal Democrat)