Cycling round-up

editorial image

Beds Road Club

Beds Road Club’s Phil Holland was crowned world champion at the ITU World Triathlon Grand Final Sprint Triathlon event in New Zealand for men aged 35-39.

Holland topped the times for the 750m swim, 20km cycle and 5km run with a superb 1.05.53hrs, while team-mate Steve McKeown came third in the age 40-44 category, clocking a time of 1.06.43hrs.

Jason Moore, meanwhile, finished sixth in the 20-24 age group, clocking 1.07.30hrs as he recorded the fastest bike split time of all the athletes competing.

Beds Road Club held their final time-trial of the year round the hilly 10-mile course from Cardington.

A storming ride from Simon Norman took the honours as he clocked an impressive 24.35mins.

Several riders took part in the exceptionally hilly 103-mile Sportive from Milton Keynes.

Of the 36 finishers David Course and James Stewart finished fifth and sixth respectively in a very impressive time of 5.38.10hrs.

Steve LePage finished in 12th in 6.14.40hrs, while Rob Miller had to withdraw after 30 miles due to mechanical issues.

A total of 163 riders completed the 60-mile ride, led home by Mark Booth and Eimear Mullen in under three hours.

Several of the club riders came in the first third of the finishers, including Nora Haggart, Alan Shillitoe and Alastair Fadden in just under four hours.

Just outside the four-hour mark were Richard Piron, Kevin Willet, Andy Purdy, Tony Parello and Simon North, who finished in the top 60.

Culham Park near Abingdon played host to round four of the Central Cyclo-Cross League.

Situated on an exposed hilltop, the course was physically demanding and took its toll on many.

In the U10s race Rosie Dunbar finished second girl and Toby Johnson rode well in the Youth race.

The main events saw 98 finishers. Geoff Cooper bounced back from a couple of crashes to finish as the club’s top rider, followed by Mark Anstee, Steve James and Isaac Anstee.

Beds Road Club, 10-mile time-trial, Cardington: 1, Simon Norman, 24.35mins; 2, Mark Cook 25.13; 3, Jaouade Izzo, 28.29; 4, Jan Laming, 33.00; 5, Rob Page, 33.51; 6, Dave Crane, 36.42; 7, Terry Sykes, 41.59; DNF, Des Roberts.