The contract to monitor the main refurbishment of the iconic Shed 1 at Cardington Hangars has been given to Bedford Borough Council’s building control team. Shed 1 was originally built in 1916 by the Short Brothers, who were building airships for the Admiralty, formerly the authority responsible for the command of the Royal Navy.
It was expanded between 1924 and 1926 and has since been used for a wide variety of purposes.
However, in recent years the condition of the shed has deteriorated and it is in need of significant repair work.
Building contractor CField is now well underway with the refurbishment works and Bedford Borough Council Building Control will monitor the work through to completion, which is expected to take around 18 months.
Councillor Sarah-Jayne Holland, portfolio holder for community and regulatory services at Borough Hall, said: “The Cardington Sheds are iconic buildings and can be seen for miles across the borough.
However, the oldest shed, number 1, is in serious need of repair to ensure it remains in place for generations to come.
“It is therefore good news that this repair work is now taking place and as the council’s building control team are responsible for monitoring the work taking place we can help to play a part in ensuring this historic piece of the borough remains for future generations.”
Search for a job
Search for a car
Search for a house
Weather for Bedford
Saturday 25 May 2013
Temperature: 5 C to 15 C
Wind Speed: 13 mph
Wind direction: North
Temperature: 6 C to 18 C
Wind Speed: 10 mph
Wind direction: North west